Cuddly Toys - Kansas Bowling (Compétition longs métrages)
Silnaye
Hive Mind
Nacre
Lausanne Underground
Film & Music Festival
21st edition
19–23.10.2022
MENU

It’s only when the pieces of the puzzle fall into place that we become aware of the big picture. The “cineramas” presented here have all been conceived individually, be they the fruits of our latest reflections or previously shelved additions, like the focus on the queen of exploitation cinema Roberta Findlay constantly postponed because of the pandemic. The competition programmes are the result of long-term endeavours and the manifestation of the union of wildly varying sensitivities of seasoned film selection veterans. Paradoxically it is thanks to the contrast  between them that the pieces so easily come together as different ingredients of a remedy against the standardisation of the contemporary cinematographic offer. Socially engaged documentary filmmaker Travis Wilkerson responds to the acerbic humour of the pornographer Stephen Sayadian, the focus on cinema Camp winks at the work of the Bulgarian Mara Mattuschka, while Peter Strickland opens the ball after he had been the one to close it in 2018 with his memorable In Fabric.

Unless otherwise specified, all films offered are prohibited for people under 16 years of age.

→ TIMETABLE


→ Opening film : FLUX GOURMET
→ Special screening : NEVER GATE (World premiere | Free entrance)
→ Closing film : SWALLOWED

COMPETITION

→ Jury
Feature films
Short films

CINERAMA

Bad Taste is Good Taste : Underground Camp Melodrama

Aesthetics of excess, artifice, fabulosity and folly, Camp has distinguished itself in cinema through movies that never shrink from any excess, any outrageousness. This will be demonstrated by four productions on the program of this LUFF's edition: Seeds and its tyrannical matriarch flanked by neuropathic offspring; Multiple Maniacs and its symphony of perversions orchestrated by Lady Divine; the gothic-porn fresco Thundercrack! where nymphomania and zoophilia are on the menu of a depravity festival and finally the whacky soap opera The Devil's Cleavage, biting parody of post-war US tearjerkers. Between experimentation and exploitation, these jewels of Camp tiara prove the indecent vitality of a concept prompt to put genders head over heels.
Pascal Françaix, auteur de Camp! vol.1 à 3 - Marest éditeur

→ SEEDS
→ MULTIPLE MANIACS
→ THE DEVIL'S CLEAVAGE
→ THUNDERCRACK!
Roberta Findlay : Fiercely independent

Don't call her a feminist filmmaker, let alone an author, or she'll get angry. When asked how she would define herself, her answer is resounding: as a pragmatic woman. The one who has always wanted to make gold before art, is today, to her astonishment, a mythical figure of the New York cinema of exploitation. Director of a good number of porn and some horror films, she was one of the few women to have worked in this field. Methodical and organised, she could shoot three films at the same time and edit one more with the offcuts. Also producer and screenwriter, Roberta Findlay enjoyed above all to hold the camera herself. She was called "the human tripod" as she managed to remain stable and refine the lighting on set. Through three stunning films, LUFF pays tribute to a simply indispensable filmmaker.

→ MYSTIQUE
→ A WOMAN'S TORMENT
→ TENEMENT
Focus & carte blanche : Stephen Sayadian

Your eyes have probably already caught Sayadian's work. While reading Hustler, Larry Flint's satirical porn magazine for which Sayadian led photographic campaigns with a wry sense of humor. Or on movie posters he conceptualized (De Palma's Dressed to Kill, Carpenter's The Fog, ...), or via video clips - for Wall of Voodoo in particular. In 1983, in the company of the photographer Francis Delia and the writer and scriptwriter Jerry Stahl, he started to shoot avant-garde porns. Conscious of being free to inject into his work what he wanted as long as he reached the quota of sex scenes, Sayadian signed singular flicks where aesthetics explode and excitation dies away, condemning their commercial career on the porn market but propelling them into the circuit of Midnight Movies that celebrated Pink Flamingos and Eraserhead in their time. His porn Café Flesh and his incredible (and non-X-rated) Dr. Caligari having recovered their surrealist brilliance thanks to recent restorations, the LUFF proposes you to (re)discover them in the presence of their author.
On top, Sayadian will introduce three pieces of mindblowing cinema that marked him at different periods of his life.

{See also: installation "Sideshow on a Trip to the Abyss: Stephen Sayadian"}

→ DR. CALIGARI
→ CAFE FLESH
→ LADY IN A CAGE
→ SANTA SANGRE
→ THE BITTER STEMS
Mara Mattuschka : Retrospective of an Anti Diva

Bulgarian artist born in 1959, Mattuschka first studied mathematics, linguistics and anthropology, before branching out into an artistic curriculum at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna, where she specialized in painting and animation. In parallel with her career as a painter, she has been making short films mixing performance, body art and experimentation since 1983. This "exhibitionism transformed into art", according to Peter Tscherkassky, questions her own identity as an artist and a woman, with humor and a certain masochism, reminiscent of the Viennese actionists. Our selection explores the Mattuschkian spectrum through her works in 16mm (1984-1997), a selection of short films shot in video (2003-2009) and her last feature film shot in 2018.

→ SHORT FILMS 16mm (1984-1997)
→ LOADING LUDWIG
→ SHORT FILMS VIDEO (2003-2009)
→ PHAIDROS
SOCIAL & EXPERIMENTAL : THE WORK OF TRAVIS WILKERSON

It would be almost unfair to use the traditional expression "filmmaker and political activist" to introduce Travis Wilkerson, as these two labels are inseparable when it comes to his work.
Born in 1969 in Colorado (USA), Wilkerson has constantly linked political thought to artistic practice and has been making militant documentaries in the purest Agitprop style since the 1990s. By seizing the techniques of collage and composition of images specific to Soviet communication to integrate them into his practice of cinema, he has invented revolutionary audio-visual objects from a visual point of view but also, you saw me coming, from a thematic perspective. For a visual, anti-racist, anti-imperialist and anti-capitalist smack, follow Wilkerson!

→ NUCLEAR FAMILY
→ DID YOU WONDER WHO FIRED THE GUN?
→ AN INJURY TO ONE
→ ACCELERATED UNDER-DEVELOPMENT: IN THE IDIOM OF SANTIAGO ALVAREZ
SATIRICAL & POLITICAL : A SHORT FILM SELECTION BY JEAN-PIERRE BOUYXOU

Jean-Pierre Bouyxou is an agitator and fervent anarchist. In 1968 he was 22 and his sharp pen opened him the pages of most of the leading magazines of the last 60 years: from Hara-Kiri to Siné Hebdo by way of Métal Hurlant and Paris Match - just to mention a few. He is also a novelist, an essayist, a director of adult movies, an actor (Vortex by Gaspar Noé), a citizen of the airy-fairy country of Groland and a passionate cinephile. Author of a few experimental shorts in the late 1960s, JPB offers here a selection of french speaking shorts combining psychedelia (Chromo Sud), fantasy (Maximiliani Ultima Nox), avant-garde (Etes-vous malade?) and the mischievous humor of his friend Noël Godin (Grève et pets).

→ PROGRAM 1
→ PROGRAM 2
Documentaries

Laurie Tompkins
Silnaye
Scream Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street - Roman Chimienti & Tyler Jensen (Documentaires)
Swallowed - Carther Smith (Film de clôture)
Lausanne Underground
Film & Music Festival
21e édition
19–23.10.2022
MENU

C’est une fois les pièces du puzzle mises à plat que l’on se rend compte de la « grande image » - « the big picture ». Les cinéramas présentés ici, qu’ils soient fruits de réflexions neuves ou pièces rapportées, comme le focus sur la reine de l’exploitation Roberta Findlay sans cesse reporté pour cause de pandémie, ont tous été pensés de manière individuelle. Les compétitions sont le résultat de travaux de sélection de longue haleine, émanation de l’union des sensibilités divergentes de sélectionneur·se·s aguerri·e·s. C’est paradoxalement grâce à leur contraste que les pièces s’assemblent avec aisance, formant un ensemble salvateur face à l’uniformisation de l’offre cinématographique contemporaine. Le documentariste engagé Travis Wilkerson répond ainsi à l’humour acerbe du pornographe Stephen Sayadian, le focus sur le cinéma Camp fait de l’oeil à l’oeuvre de la bulgare Mara Mattuschka, tandis que Peter Strickland ouvre le bal après l’avoir clôturé en 2018 avec son mémorable In Fabric.

Sauf indication contraire, tous les films proposés sont interdits au moins de 16 ans révolus.

→ GRILLE HORAIRES


→ Film d'ouverture : FLUX GOURMET
→ Séance spéciale : NEVER GATE (Première mondiale | Entrée libre)
→ Film de clôture : SWALLOWED

COMPETITION

→ Jury
Longs métrages
Courts métrages

CINERAMA

Bad Taste is Good Taste : Underground Camp Melodrama

Esthétique de l'outrance, de l'artifice, de la « fabulosité » et de la folitude, le Camp s'est illustré au cinéma par le biais de films ne reculant devant aucun excès, aucune démesure. En témoignent quatre productions au programme de cette édition du LUFF : Seeds et sa matriarche tyrannique flanquée de rejetons névropathes ; Multiple Maniacs et sa symphonie de perversions orchestrée par Lady Divine ; la fresque gothico-porno Thundercrack!, où nymphomanie et zoophilie sont au menu d'un festival de turpitudes, et le soap opera déjanté The Devil's Cleavage, cinglante parodie des mélodrames américains d'après-guerre. Entre expérimentation et exploitation, ces joyaux du diadème Camp prouvent l'indécente vitalité d'un concept prompt à mettre les genres (cinématographiques et sexuels) cul par-dessus tête.
Pascal Françaix, auteur de Camp! vol.1 à 3 - Marest éditeur

→ SEEDS
→ MULTIPLE MANIACS
→ THE DEVIL'S CLEAVAGE
→ THUNDERCRACK!
Roberta Findlay : Férocement indépendante

N’allez surtout pas la traiter de cinéaste féministe, et encore moins d’auteure, sous peine de provoquer sa colère. Lorsqu’on lui demande comment elle se définirait, sa réponse est claquante : comme une femme pragmatique! Celle qui a toujours voulu faire de l’or avant de l’art, est aujourd’hui, à sa plus grande incompréhension, une figure mythique du cinéma d’exploitation new-yorkais. Réalisatrice d’une bonne flanquée de pornos et de quelques bandes horrifiques, elle fut l’une des rares femmes à avoir œuvré dans ce milieu. Méthodique et organisée, elle pouvait tourner trois films en même temps et en monter un de plus avec les chutes, productrice et scénariste à ses heures, Roberta Findlay aimait par-dessus tout tenir elle même la caméra, on la surnommait le trépied humain tant elle arrivait à rester stable, et parfaire ses éclairages sur les tournages. À travers trois films détonnants, le LUFF rend hommage à une cinéaste tout simplement indispensable.

→ MYSTIQUE
→ A WOMAN'S TORMENT
→ TENEMENT
Mara Mattuschka : Retrospective of an Anti Diva

Artiste bulgare née en 1959, Mattuschka s’est d’abord orientée vers les mathématiques, la linguistique et l’anthropologie, avant de bifurquer vers un cursus artistique à l’université des arts appliqués de Vienne où elle se spécialise dans la peinture et l’animation. En parallèle de sa carrière d’artiste-peintre, elle réalise dès 1983 des courts métrages mêlant performance, body art et expérimentations. Cet « exhibitionnisme transformé en art », dixit Peter Tscherkassky, interroge sa propre identité en tant qu’artiste et femme, avec humour et un certain masochisme rappelant les actionistes viennois. Notre sélection propose de traverser la spectre mattuschkien à travers ses travaux en 16mm (1984-1997), une sélection de courts tournés en vidéo (2003-2009) et son dernier long métrage en date tourné en 2018.

→ COURTS METRAGES 16mm (1984-1997)
→ LOADING LUDWIG
→ COURTS METRAGES VIDEO (2003-2009)
→ PHAIDROS
Focus & carte blanche : Stephen Sayadian

Votre regard a probablement déjà croisé le travail de Sayadian. Quand vous lisiez Hustler, le magazine satirico-cochon de Larry Flint pour lequel Sayadian dirigea des campagnes photographiques à l’humour grinçant. Ou sur des affiches de cinéma conceptualisées par ses soins (Pulsions de De Palma, Fog de Carpenter, …), ou via des vidéo clips – pour Wall of Voodoo notamment. En 1983, en compagnie du photographe Francis Delia et de l’écrivain et scénariste Jerry Stahl, il entame la mise en œuvre de pornos avant-gardistes. Conscient de pouvoir injecter dans ses films ce qu’il voulait à partir du moment où il y intégrait le quota de scènes de sexe suffisant, Sayadian signe des bandes singulières où l’esthétique explose et l’excitation se meurt, condamnant leur carrière commerciale dans le circuit du X mais la propulsant dans le circuit des Midnight Movies qui couronna Pink Flamingos et Eraserhead en leur temps. Son porno Café Flesh et son incroyable (et non-X) Dr. Caligari ayant retrouvé leur éclat surréaliste grâce à de récentes restaurations, le LUFF vous propose de les (re)découvrir en présence de leur auteur.
Parallèlement, Sayadian présentera trois oeuvres cinématographiques décoiffantes l'ayant marqué à différentes périodes de sa vie.

{voir aussi: installation "Sideshow on a Trip to the Abyss: Stephen Sayadian"}

→ DR. CALIGARI
→ CAFE FLESH
→ A LADY IN A CAGE
→ SANTA SANGRE
→ THE BITTER STEMS
SOCIAL & EXPERIMENTAL : LES FILMS DE TRAVIS WILKERSON

Ce serait presque injuste d’employer l’expression consacrée « cinéaste et activiste politique » pour présenter Travis Wilkerson tant ces deux étiquettes sont indissociables lorsqu’on veut parler de son travail.
Né en 1969 dans le Colorado (USA), Wilkerson n’a eu de cesse de lier la pensée politique à la pratique artistique et réalise depuis les années 90 des documentaires militants dans le plus pur style Agitprop. En s’emparant des techniques de collage et de composition d’images propres à la communication soviétique pour les intégrer dans sa pratique du cinéma, il a inventé des objets audio-visuels révolutionnaires d’un point de vue esthétique mais aussi, vous m’aurez vu venir, d’un point de vue thématique. Pour prendre des claques d’anti-racisme, anti-impérialisme et anti-capitalisme, suivez le guide Wilkerson.

→ NUCLEAR FAMILY
→ DID YOU WONDER WHO FIRED THE GUN?
→ AN INJURY TO ONE
→ ACCELERATED UNDER-DEVELOPMENT: IN THE IDIOM OF SANTIAGO ALVAREZ
SATIRIQUE & POLITIQUE : UNE SELECTION DE COURTS PAR JEAN-PIERRE BOUYXOU

Jean-Pierre Bouyxou est un agitateur et anarchiste convaincu. Lui qui avait 22 ans en 1968 s’est rapidement saisi d’une plume qui fut publiée dans la plupart des journaux phares de ces 60 dernières années : de Hara-Kiri à Siné Hebdo en passant par Métal Hurlant et Paris Match – pour ne citer que ceux-là. Il est également romancier, essayiste, réalisateur de films pour adultes, acteur (Vortex de Gaspar Noé), grolandais et cinéphile passionné. Lui-même auteur de quelques courts expérimentaux à la fin des années 1960, JPB propose ici une sélection de courts métrages francophones alliant psychédélisme (Chromo Sud), fantastique (Maximiliani Ultima Nox), avant-garde (Etes-vous malade ?) et l’humour malotru de son ami entarteur Noël Godin (Grève et pets).

→ PROGRAMME 1
→ PROGRAMME 2
Documentaires